Share on Google+Share on Google+

Log4J Architecture - Introduction to the Log4J architecture

In this section we will learn about the architectural component of Log4J.

Log4J Architecture - Introduction to the Log4J architecture


In this section we will learn about the architectural component of Log4J. Understanding the architecture of Log4J is important.

Three main component of Log4J

The architecture of Log4J framework is layered and consists of three main components. There components of the Log4J are:

  1. Logger
  2. Appender
  3. Layout

1. Logger

Logger is the most essential component of the logging process. It is responsible for capturing the logging information. There are 5 different log levels of the Logger. The level of Logger are as following:

There are 5 normal levels of logger:

  • DEBUG : Most useful to debug an application.
  • INFO : It provides informational messages.
  • WARN : It provides that application may have harmful events.
  • ERROR : It provides that application having error events but that might allow it to continue running.
  • FATAL : It denotes the severe error events which lead the application to abort.

 In addition, there are two special levels also they are:

  • ALL : It is intended to turn on all logging
  • OFF : It is intended to turn off logging

 You can also set the logger level by putting a simple code like


2. Appenders in Log4J:

The Appender is responsible for publishing the log to a destination. It controls how the logging provides the output.

There are few list of appenders listed below:

  • ConsoleAppender
  • DailyRollingFileAppender
  • FileAppender
  • RollingFileAppender
  • WriterAppender
  • SMTPAppender
  • SocketAppender
  • SocketHubAppender
  • SyslogAppendersends
  • TelnetAppender

 ConsoleAppender is used as:

 ConsoleAppender appender = new ConsoleAppender(new PatternLayout());
 FileAppender is used as:

FileAppender appender = new FileAppender(new PatternLayout(),"filename");
 WriterAppender is used as:
appender = new WriterAppender(new PatternLayout(),new FileOutputStream("filename"));

3. Layouts in Log4J:

For each Appender it needs to have an associated Layout, which guides how to format the output. The Layout is responsible for formatting the log output in different layouts. User can control the output format by modifying the Log4J configuration file.

There are basically three types of Layout:

  1. HTMLLayout : It formats the output in the HTML table
  2. PatternLayout : It formats the output in the conversion pattern
  3. SimpleLayout : It formats the output in a simple manner, it prints the level then place a dash and then the user specified log message.

Configuring Log4J

For running application using Log4J you need to download the latest version log4j jar file and then add this to the classpath.

There are two ways to configure the Log4J one is by using properties file and other by using xml file. Using xml for Log4J is quite popular and it is recommended also.

In the next section we will download Log4J libraries, install and then run a small program.



Posted on: April 28, 2010 If you enjoyed this post then why not add us on Google+? Add us to your Circles

Share this Tutorial Follow us on Twitter, or add us on Facebook or Google Plus to keep you updated with the recent trends of Java and other open source platforms.

Discuss: Log4J Architecture - Introduction to the Log4J architecture  

Post your Comment

Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Subject (*):
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image
December 7, 2011

It is very info about log4j so i feel hapy to read this info